Положение о cookie-файлах Положении о cookie-файлах.
Забронировать
(504) 522-4444
Забронировать

Our History

  • St Charles Theatre 2
  • original_030_print
  • original_023_print
  • 1600x1067_002_mls
  • original_016_print
  • Bourbon
  • New Orleans 5

Легенда о Pelham отеля

В 1820 - х годах, г - н Джеймс Колдуэлл построил одну из самых больших английских театров в Америке, под названием Сент - Чарльз театр, на Кэмп - стрит. $ 350000 театр был экстравагантным, капает в наиболее богато архитектуры в английском стиле и привлекает лучших актеров и актрис из всех уголков Соединенных Штатов. Один из самых талантливых и известных актеров, которые регулярно проводимых в театре был г-н Алан Pelham.

В честь дивных вклад г-на Pelham, чтобы театрального сообщества, Caldwell назвал свой сложный дом, расположенный на Common Street, The Pelham Manor. Расположенный всего в полутора кварталах от крыльца театра, дом принимал наиболее щедрых партий города и был центром практически любой художественной общественной деятельности.

13 марта 1842 года, гончарная склад позади театра загорелся и быстро распространился. В исступлении, Caldwell начал двигать роскошную мебель и украшения театра к его общей улице дома. Когда пламя было погашено, тяжелая работа Колдуэлла лежал в золе и разорения. На дисплее в вестибюле являются только два оставшихся артефактов известных. Сегодня они любезно приветствуют гостя со всего мира.

После того, как сайт был очищен, соперников Колдуэлл приобрел участок и его мечта умерла. На оставшуюся часть своей жизни, он редко покидал свою Pelham Manor, окруженный богатством Англии, что когда-то украшавших его процветающий театр в Новом Орлеане.

Сегодня, Pelham Отель остается в самом центре деятельности, расположенном в самом сердце центрального делового района. В то время как Сент - Чарльз театр и Pelham Manor больше не существует, Pelham Отель до сих пор стоит как свидетельство мечты Колдуэлла и английском величие театра однажды упоминается как "Храм драмы".

Закрыть

This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to use this site, you consent to the use of cookies on your device as described in our Cookie Policy.
Book Now
(504) 522-4444
Book Now

Our History

  • St Charles Theatre 2
  • original_030_print
  • original_023_print
  • 1600x1067_002_mls
  • original_016_print
  • Bourbon
  • New Orleans 5

The Legend of The Pelham Hotel

In the 1820’s, Mr. James Caldwell built one of the greatest English theatres in America, called The St. Charles Theatre, on Camp Street. The $350,000 theatre was extravagant, dripping in the most ornate English style architecture and attracted the best actors and actresses from all over the United States. One of the most talented and renowned actors who regularly performed at the theatre was Mr. Alan Pelham.  

In honor of Mr. Pelham’s wondrous contributions to the theatre community, Caldwell named his elaborate home, located on Common Street, The Pelham Manor. Located just one and a half blocks from the front steps of the theatre, the house played host to the city’s most lavish parties and was the hub of almost any artistic social activity.

On March 13, 1842, a pottery warehouse behind the theatre caught fire and spread rapidly. In frenzy, Caldwell began moving the theatre’s luxurious furniture and decorations to his Common Street home. When the flames were extinguished, Caldwell’s hard work lay in ash and ruin. On display in the lobby are the only two remaining artifacts known. Today they graciously welcome guest from all over the world.

Once the site was cleared, Caldwell’s rivals acquired the site and his dream died. For the remainder of his life, he rarely left his Pelham Manor, surrounded by the opulence of England that once adorned his flourishing theatre in New Orleans.

Today, The Pelham Hotel remains at the hub of activity, located in the midst of the Central Business District and steps away from the famed French Quarter. While The St. Charles Theatre and the Pelham Manor no longer exist, The Pelham Hotel still stands as a testament to Caldwell’s dream and the English grandeur of a theatre once referred to as “The Temple of the Drama”.

Close